Book Review – How to Play the World’s Most Exclusive Golf Clubs by John Sabino

I read the Playing the Top 100 Golf Courses in the World blog religiously back in the day. A few years ago, I found out about this blog, I think through GolfClubAtlas. Like clockwork, this guy (presumably) would write posts about twice a month about another top golf course he got to play. Putting my jealousy aside, with the occasional muttering of “Lucky bastard!” under my breath, it was neat to get an insider perspective to some of the world’s best clubs.

While I was happy the blog’s author finally got on Augusta National, I was actually sad that it happened. This would certainly mean the end of his blog. You know what they say… nothing lasts forever.

I would come back every now and again to read my favorite blog posts; or to see if he had any other trips up his sleeve. If you’ve read my blog recently, you know my current opportunities for golf travel are extremely limited. While I wouldn’t have this any other way, I still like to live vicariously through some of these quests blogs.

world-most-exclusive-golf-clubs-book
When I found out that John Sabino (oh, that’s the guy, huh) was going to come out with a book discussing some more of his travels, I immediately put a pre-order on Amazon for How to Play the World’s Most Exclusive Golf Clubs.

John’s methods of accessing some of the best courses won’t surprise you if you’ve been in the game long enough. Mostly, it’s about making a good network of connections, luck, and relatively open availability. I did enjoy seeing the degrees of separation that he had with some courses. I also liked how he listed out some of his favorite things about different courses. I was surprised to see a local one to me mentioned so many times amongst some of the best in the world. I guess my affinity for it is not without warrant.

It’s a good, quick read, and a welcome addition to my shelf of golf books. If you want more course-by-course detail however, I suggest you read back through the back catalog of his blog.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Miscellaneous
One comment on “Book Review – How to Play the World’s Most Exclusive Golf Clubs by John Sabino
  1. Criss,

    Sounds like there would be some interesting stories in there. I’ll have to give it a read. Thanks.

    Cheers
    Josh

    Like

Leave a Reply

