The Pivot

Things are a bit different around here.

When I started this blog, I had the grandiose vision of playing all the best public golf-courses in the Tri-State area. I’m not quite sure what I was thinking. Although I am centrally located in Cincinnati, some of these courses on the far ends of the region were not within a day trip’s journey. I think the longest one where I did a day trip was Eagle Ridge, which was a bit over six hours round trip; plus the round.

This was back when I thought I had a lot of time and resources to put against such an adventure. Then, life happened. I became a parent. There was a double mortgage situation. I became a parent, again. Suddenly, being able to play a lot of golf courses outside my home area became a lot more difficult. Then, late last year, I joined a club close to me. Now it really doesn’t make sense for me to play a lot elsewhere, when I’m fairly financially committed to one place.

So, where do I take the blog from here?

Well, I still love the game of golf (obviously). I plan to write about more topics outside of just golf courses. I have a big backlog of courses I could write about. I will still travel around here and there for courses and will write on those. You can call my To Play lists a “quest”, I suppose. I live in an area with some pretty decent golf; so if I can get through even a part of that list in addition to what I’ve already played, I’ll consider myself pretty lucky.

We’ll see how things play out this year. For now, sit back and enjoy the ride.

Posted in Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

