Brown’s Run Country Club – Middletown, OH

As an alumnus of Miami Unversity, I have always wanted to play Brown’s Run Country Club. A private club three miles north of Middletown, OH, Browns Run was the last link in my effort to play all the golf courses Miami University’s golf team practices on. The other two being the public courses Indian Ridge Golf Club and Hueston Woods Golf Course.

IMG_1593-1024x768

Because of bad weather one round and plain forgetfulness the other, I failed to capture a lot of the course on film. Probably best since I played in it in March, which isn’t exactly prime weather for Ohio golf. Despite the large amounts of rain the Cincinnati area received in March 2011, the course was in great shape. The greens and bunkers (around 43 by my count) were all in great shape despite the time of year and conditions.

IMG_1592-768x576

Brown’s Run doesn’t have a whole lot of significant golf course architecture to speak of. The holes that stood out for me were the sharp-dogleg left par 4 4th, The double dogleg par 5 6th, and saving the best for last, the mid-length par 4 18th (pictured above). What you do get is a very easy to walk golf course that has enough bunkers and varying length doglegs (although most of these are to the left) to keep the golf interesting, but not exceptional.

When I played by myself on a Sunday afternoon, I didn’t see too many people on the course. I was able to walk 18 holes in less than 3 hours! Even in my tournament round, I still managed to get around Browns Run in 4.5 hours. The other facilities at the course were nicely understated. TVs around the grill area to watch other sporting events and one of the cheaper pints of Guinness I’ve had in the Cincinnati area.

Browns Run Country Club is exactly the type of club I’d want to join, if it were a more geographically-friendly for me. The golf is decent, the other facilities aren’t over the top, and the membership is nice and plays fast. You can find Browns Run on Facebook now, where they often give deals and membership offers. It doesn’t have the wow factor that the top-tier private courses in the area have, but you can find a decent round of golf here.

Posted in Private Stops

Leave a Reply

